Bohol barangay mediation teams to LTIA na’tl finals

Two Bohol barangay justice system implementing teams automatically represent Bohol and the region to the national Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentive Awards (LTIA) after sweeping the awards in their respective categories here.

Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Officer Josie Montes named the two outstanding barangay crime adjudication teams in implementing the Katarungang Pambarangay as that of Can-opao Jagna for the 1st to 3rd class towns and Bingag in Dauis for 4th to 6th class towns.

Both winners emerged after the validation team, composed of the DILG, Provincial Prosecutors Office, Regional Trial Courts, Liga ng mga Barangay Bohol Chapter, Philippine National Police and a provincial based Non Government Organization did table assessments and on-site validation between January 30 to February 10, Montes explained.

According to the DILG, the assessment covered the period of calendar year 2016 and intends to check on the function as well as pay tribute to outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa (LT) performance.

Finalists into the national level search for the best are LT of Can-opao Jagna, led by Chairman Jocelyn B. Pagtanac (1st to 3rd class municipality category) and LT of Bingag Dauis under Chairman Jose Rey Bomediano (4th to 6th class municipality category).

Both winners emerged on top of their class in the provincial and the regional qualifications, Montes added.

Governor Edgar Chatto, who emphasized the importance of the implementation of the barangay justice system because here, the communities can resolve issues and save time and money for the government because they can mediate even before the cases are elevated to higher courts.

The governor also claimed that the barangay mediation teams play a great role in de-clogging the courts and bringing peace in communities.

Also adjudged by the Provincial awards Committee as runners up in the provincial search for 1st to third class town categories are LT of Matabao Tubigon under chairman Joel Serohijos (2nd runner up) and LT Suba Talibon under chairman Elegido Monte.
In the 4th to 6th class categories, runners up are LT of West Poblacion Alburquerque under Chairman Alex Andoy (2nd) and LT Nahawan Clarin under Chairman Aresenio Degamo (1st runner up).

The provincial Government through Gov Chatto also acknowledged the winning LT on their strategic arbitration roles and gave out project-fund incentives to the winners.
Capitol handed out P100,000 worth of projects to the outstanding winners while it also gave P50,000 worth of projects to the runners up.

Chatto reminded this year’s winners to submit a barangay resolution and a program of works for the projects they intend to spend their cash prizes with, so the Capitol can release the funds.
Aside from the cash for projects, winning LTs also received plaques of appreciation for their performance. (rahc/PIA-7/Bohol)



About the Author
The Bohol Tribune is the leading newspaper in Bohol, Philippines, circulating in Tagbilaran City and in Bohol's 47 towns. Widely considered as the best newspaper in Bohol, The Bohol Tribune offers the most comprehensive coverage of news and features, presented in a world-class printing quality. For feedback/inquiries: 0920-630-1130 (smart) | 0927-6310-965 (globe) Landline: 038-501-0919 | E-mail:

Be the first to comment on "Bohol barangay mediation teams to LTIA na’tl finals"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.